Pictured from left (back)  Anthony & Andee Scioli, Karen Sokolof Javitch, Abby Haber, Jody Malashock, Howard Epstein; (front) Yoni Herskovitz and Albert Cohen Sedgh

The Sokolof Awards reception was held Tuesday, June 14 in the Shirley and Leonard Goldstein Community Engagement Venue of the Staenberg Omaha JCC.  The reception honored the 2022 recipients of the Sokolof awards:

  • The Phil & Ruth Sokolof Honor Roll Merit Scholarships:
    • For High School Seniors:  Zev Gordman and Jack Scioli
    • For Health Care:  Albert Cohen Sedgh and Yoni Herskovitz
    • The Karen Sokolof Javitch Music Fund Award:  Ilana McNamara
    • The Phil & Ruth Sokolof Outstanding Jewish Teacher Award:  Abby Haber

The awards were created with a bequest from the late Phil Sokolof.  Phil and Ruth Sokolof were well known throughout Omaha and throughout the country for their dedication to their community, for their charitable and philanthropic efforts, and for their business and personal accomplishments. 

This year’s recipients are truly some of the community’s brightest.  The students are all great examples of the scholarship criteria of scholastic performance, exemplary character, personal achievement, and community service. 

Zev Gordman and Jack Scioli were unable to attend as they are currently in Israel with the Israel Bound program, sponsored by the Jewish Federation of St. Louis.  Ilana McNamara was also unable to attend.  She is currently in Vermont, attending New Music on the Point, a contemporary music festival. 

Each recipient will receive a $10,000 award.